President’s Welcome

Greetings Fellow Radiographers!

It is with great enthusiasm that I address this welcome letter to you and I have some extremely wonderful news to share with you in the following paragraphs:

First off, the 87th WSRT Annual Conference in Oshkosh, WI has just concluded and again was an amazing event.  The Annual Conference is organized and offered for YOUR benefit. Its purpose is to bring medical imaging technologists together from all corners of the state in efforts to build relationships, network with peers and encourage professional growth through attending CE sponsored lectures.  Recently, the WSRT Board voted to move the Annual Conference (typically held in the fall) to take place in tandem with the WAERT Student Symposium scheduled for April 23-25, 2020 at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center, Wisconsin Dells.

This WSRT/WAERT Educational Symposium will be a multi-day educational event.  The new venture will keep the current structure of the WAERT Student Symposium but will expand its CEU offerings and marketing to additionally meet practicing technologist’s needs.  This is especially important and relevant as the ARRT CQR process is now in force for technologists who have earned any ARRT credential after January 1, 2011.

Secondly, I have several new WSRT Board members to introduce to you: (1) President-elect: Dan Vander Meulen, (2) Treasurer: Christina Smith, (3) Member-at-Large: Rachael Julson and Chastyn Sadowski.  With the addition of these new representatives, the WSRT has received a formidable boost of energy, ideas and renewed confidence. I have no doubt they will help us grow to meet the future needs of our state affiliate.

2018-2019 remained a challenge for the WSRT.  Pressing issues continue to face the field of radiography in Wisconsin; including declining society membership, threats to our state licensure and further practice encroachment by other health care professionals petitioning lawmakers to allow them to perform medical imaging and radiation therapy procedures.  This activity is occurring at both the state and federal level. The WSRT Legislative Committee has diligently been investing of their time and talents along with lobbyist, Michael Blumenfeld and his associate Erin Fabrizious to keep us abreast of these moving pieces. The ARRT and ASRT have also provided remarkable advocacy support towards curtailing these efforts but we must stay diligent in our charge to uphold quality patient care and safe medical imaging.

In closing, I want to again reiterate my strong conviction that the success of the WSRT organization is highly dependent on an engaged membership.  Our profession and patients are reliant on educated and highly skilled medical imaging professionals. Governance and policy makers need our knowledge and expertise as they look to implement changes that involve medical imaging.  It is a realization though, that without membership support, our ability to advocate for patient safety concerns will not be sustainable. In essence, we will be abdicating oversight and decision making to those who are not savvy to the technology, risks and subtle nuances of our occupation.  By remaining silent or indifferent, that inaction is essentially creating a “void” which I fear puts Wisconsin families, friends and communities at risk. I challenge you to get involved and volunteer to help lead our organization forward! 

Please support our efforts and plan to attend next year’s event scheduled for: April 19-20, 2021 at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center, Wisconsin Dells.

Respectfully yours, 

Jolynn M. Van Ert BS, R.T.(R)(CT),CPC,CIRCC, RCC
WSRT President

Jolynn M. Van Ert BS, R.T.(R)(CT),CPC,CIRCC, RCC

WSRT President

Meet The Team

Board Members
Dan Vander Meulen

President Elect

Ron Marker

Chairman of the Board

Sara Hilber

Senior Board Member

Mary Gehin

Member Delegate

Christina Smith


Cindi Brazil


Members At Large
Chastyn Sadowski

Member at Large

Linda Lauersdorf

Member at Large

Denise Lukasik-Sedmak

Member at Large

Rachael Julson

Member at Large

Marsha Jones

Member at Large

Alexandra Liezert

Member at Large

Committee Members
Alexandrea Liezert

WAERT President

Diane Wingenter

Member Services

Miranda Hurley

Webmaster/Social Media

Sandra Helinski

Legislative Committee Chair

Linda Colano

Legislative Committee

Randy Griswold

Legislative Committee

Marsha Jones

By-Laws Chair

Kelly Grant

By-Law Committee

WSRT Conference Committee Members
Jolynn Van Ert

Conference Coordinator

Mary Gehin

Conference Registration

Cindi Brazil

Conference Vendor/Sponsor

Powered by InnTier